I am an extreme moderate

September 28, 2011

It finally happened

Filed under: Uncategorized — niezmierniespokojny @ 12:00 pm

It finally happened – a VPN provider in their customer (1, 2, 3). It just had to happen eventually. It’s the first case that I heard of and I’m sure not the last. What is advertised as a secure way to be anonymous on the net has always been at most as good as the provider. There’s no way to verify that yours is OK unless they proved that they are not trustworthy already.
The solutions are the same as always:

  • Tor
  • I2P
  • Freenet
  • There are several others too, the choice depends on what you want to do.

    A solution where you don’t have to trust some unknown company is inherently more secure than one that requires such trust. So do yourself a favour and when you need anonymity – get real anonymity and not smoke and mirrors.

    2 Comments »

    1. I’m also have paranoid about security. :)
      Using “HTTPS everywhere” addon in Firefox.
      Now think about anonymous VPN service, Chinese for example.
      And seedbox or dedicated server with VNC access for torrents.
      But it all requires more money. :D

      PS http://anonet.org/

      Comment by Tarada — September 28, 2011 @ 4:38 pm

      • I don’t think I am paranoid about security…though I use HTTPSEverywhere and several other goodies too. I see no reason to get a VPN – why would I want one, when I can’t rely on it anyway? When I need anonymity, there are tools that do it better.

        A haven’t seen anonet yet. On the first site looks much like I2P, just w/out garlic routing.
        EDIT: Wikipedia describes Anonet better than the project itself. :)
        So it’s more like F2F, seems to be more secure than it seemed at first.

        Though I have troubles with F2F networks too. They are much safer than nothing, but less safe than onion routing. “God save me from my friends. I can protect myself from my enemies.”. Though they have some potential to offer better average latency, which is worth some too.
        But IMO the biggest problem is that they are hard to build – regular people don’t care enough for security to use them. Personally, I don’t have any friends that would use any F2F network, so to use one I’d have to connect to strangers. Not good.

        Comment by niezmierniespokojny — September 28, 2011 @ 6:24 pm


    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

        The Shocking Blue Green Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

