I am an extreme moderate

August 3, 2011

Lost emails

Filed under: Uncategorized — niezmierniespokojny @ 8:11 am

My thumb drive died yesterday. I got 2 important things on it, Thunderbird and Miranda IM. I backed Miranda less than 2 weeks ago, so it was not a big deal. However, my latest Thunderbird backup is from April.

Long time ago I thought about the risk of loosing my email database and simply configured it to never delete messages from server. Nowadays with many gigabytes of email space on average account there’s no reason to delete them.
But received emails are not everything. There are also sent ones and I lost them. I could have prevented this loss too. Thunderbird can BCC all sent messages automatically to any account you want. So I just created one that will be used solely for backup purposes. I recommend that you do the same.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

