I am an extreme moderate

September 12, 2011

It hurts to be a noob…

Filed under: Uncategorized — niezmierniespokojny @ 9:26 am

Transition to *nix is painful for me. I know Windows well and understand its ways very well. I know what happens on my computer inside out, can spot all irregularities and fairly easily dig their causes. I act as a local guru.

On *nix it’s gone. Everything is different and I seem unable to do basic things. When something doesn’t work (and it occurs frequently), I can’t find the cause and can’t fix it. I have to leave with things being broken. It hurts.
Nevertheless, in 10% of cases I try to dig the causes and it alone makes me spend more time reading docs and searching the net than actually using things.

And this is one of things that make me like FreeBSD more than Linux. It has a comprehensive documentation. Thanks to it, I have to ask simple questions less frequently. It’s better to be with my fall alone.

4 Comments »

  1. Yep, FreeBSD is a much better. Or try PC-BSD as more user-friendly for desktop PC.
    Anyway MacOSX is really more comfortable, stable and thoughtful. πŸ˜€
    So you can try Hackintosh(OSx86) or different Linux distributive, because ubuntu is cra*est sh*t evar.
    For example OpenSUSE, Debian or Fedora(CentOS).

    Comment by Guest32123 — September 12, 2011 @ 10:07 am

  2. PC-BSD is what I am using actually. But for documentation I go to FreeBSD Handbook, the PC-BSD one doesn’t cover most topics that I have problems with.
    MacOS is not for me. One of main the reasons why I refuse to downgrade to Vista (or Vista 2 a.k.a. Windows 7) is that it puts quite a lot of effort to remove users’ capability to control their OSes. I don’t really know how is it with MacOS specifically, but Apple is known to be very bad in this regard, so while I have no trouble believing that MacOS is much more usable than PC-BSD (or Linux), it’s not something that I want to use.

    I tried several Linux distros and initially decided to go with Lununtu because of several things:
    1. I heard great stuff about ubuntuforums. I knew I would need help and this was very important (though I later learned that FreeBSD forum is about as helpful)
    2. Cargo cult. If so many people use it, there is likely a reason
    3. It was said to be relatively easy to use.
    4. Lubuntu is the most beautiful OS that I’ve ever seen

    So the reasons were not really strong and I could easily lean to something else. But when it came to installation, it turned out that something based on Ubuntu is the best option for me…because it’s the only distro that tries to support my chipset (Intel GMA500). While I am sure it can work equally bad on other distros (yes, it’s very bad), making it work is much harder and I’m not willing to go through these pains w/out a good reason. I really have a lot to learn and adding other things unnecessarily is not the way to go. That said, I plan a much deeper exploration of *nix landscape at later time. A few years from now probably.
    Gentoo/DragonflyBSD is something that looks the most interesting ATM; I like stuff that’s made for tinkering; I like the idea of a source based distro; I like scalability principles of DragonflyBSD; I like the ideas behind Hammer file system a lot.

    Thanks for comment. πŸ™‚

    Comment by niezmierniespokojny — September 12, 2011 @ 10:37 am

  3. > 2. Cargo cult. If so many people use it, there is likely a reason
    Mac users have much more users in the world πŸ˜€ http://www.deepapple.com/images/news/2011-08-a/osx09_00.jpeg
    > 4. Lubuntu is the most beautiful OS that I’ve ever seen
    I think it can’t be reason for Power Users like you. πŸ™‚ OS should be used for work or entertainment, not for admiration πŸ™‚
    > Gentoo/DragonflyBSD is something that looks the most interesting ATM.
    Some years ago Gentoo was my main Desktop system, but it takes too much time for compilation, updating, etc.
    And have almost no difference between precompiled binaries in other distros. And sometimes more buggy. πŸ˜€

    Comment by Guest32123 — September 12, 2011 @ 11:14 am

    • >> 2. Cargo cult. If so many people use it, there is likely a reason
      >Mac users have much more users in the world πŸ˜€ http://www.deepapple.com/images/news/2011-08-a/osx09_00.jpeg

      No doubt. πŸ™‚ But like I said there were other reasons totally ruling it out.

      >> 4. Lubuntu is the most beautiful OS that I’ve ever seen
      >I think it can’t be reason for Power Users like you. πŸ™‚ OS should be used for work or entertainment, not for admiration πŸ™‚

      No, it matters for me. It’s extremely rarely a deciding factor but there were a few programs that I didn’t use because of the way they looked (AbiWord comes to my mind, on Windows it’s just atrocious) and some for which the look was a significant plus (XmPlay, Lubuntu). And with most programs it has some impact on whether I like them or not. It’s not extreme, I like Total Commander a lot even though I consider it very ugly and there’s a similar story with foobar2000 (though with a heavily customized skin it’s just ugly).

      >> Gentoo/DragonflyBSD is something that looks the most interesting ATM.
      >Some years ago Gentoo was my main Desktop system, but it takes too much time for compilation, updating, etc.
      >And have almost no difference between precompiled binaries in other distros. And sometimes more buggy.

      Mhm. Recently I tried to use FreeBSD ports for the first time and got a touch of issues with compilation time, it took 2 hours to install a simple game. With dependencies. πŸ˜‰ But nevertheless I’d like to get more experience with it at some point….it’s just that the point is far, I have a lot to learn to be able to use what I have with reasonable productivity.

      Comment by niezmierniespokojny — September 12, 2011 @ 11:37 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

